Riksbank Minutes comparison — 20 August 2026 vs 24 September 2026

This Riksbank minutes comparison covers 20 August 2026 and 24 September 2026. Overall, the newer document was broadly unchanged. The September 2026 decision is a straight continuation of the August hold at 1.75%, with no change in the policy rate or the language used to announce it. The added references to minutes and a vote record indicate that further detail exists but is not disclosed here, so investors should watch the published minutes for any hint of a shift in the board's reaction function ahead of the next meeting.

What changed

Broadly unchanged. The September 2026 decision is a straight continuation of the August hold at 1.75%, with no change in the policy rate or the language used to announce it. The added references to minutes and a vote record indicate that further detail exists but is not disclosed here, so investors should watch the published minutes for any hint of a shift in the board's reaction function ahead of the next meeting.

  • Inflation — Little changed. No inflation passage appears in either document's key passages, so no shift in inflation rhetoric can be assessed.
  • Labour Market — Little changed. No labour-market passage appears in either document's key passages, so no shift in labour-market language can be assessed.
  • Rate Path — Little changed. The policy rate is held at 1.75% at both the August and September 2026 meetings, and the September document adds only references to minutes and a vote record without disclosing any change in stance or guidance.
  • Balance Sheet — Little changed. No balance-sheet passage appears in either document's key passages, so no shift in balance-sheet policy or risk framing can be assessed.

Key wording

The Executive Board decided to hold the policy rate unchanged at 1.75 per cent at its monetary policy meeting on 19 August 2026.

rate path: Confirms the policy rate hold at 1.75%, the key decision for rates investors.

The Executive Board decided to hold the policy rate unchanged at 1.75 per cent at its monetary policy meeting on 23 September 2026.

rate path: The only hard policy fact in the document: a hold at 1.75% confirms no change to the stance, so the reaction function must be read from the linked PDF minutes.

Official documents

Background reading

Related

Earlier meeting · Later meeting · Previous comparison · Methodology

The Cadence Brief

The one number that moved central bank pricing — delivered each weekday morning.

Free. One email a day. Unsubscribe anytime.